Nation finds ‘David After Dentist’ hilarious; except me, apparently.

A girl I hardly knew in high school posted a link to the YouTube video “David After Dentist” on Facebook with a one-word comment – “HILARIOUS.”

The video, shot by the father, shows a boy stoned off his gourd, saying and yelling nonsensical things following surgery at the dentist.

Yeah, I had heard about it, and saw glimpses of it on the media circuit. But as I watched, I kept waiting for the hilarity to happen… At first I giggled as he rolled his head and slurred his speech. Then I started to feel a little icky and uncomfortable. And in the end, I just found it sad.

I guess I just don’t get it. This is young child, age 7 or 8 at the most, who says he can’t see straight, asking his father if the sensation will stop. It seems as though people are getting a laugh at this kid’s expense. Since Jan. 30, it has received over 8.9 million hits.

I mean, really? This is what people find funny?

Anyone who has been sedated at the dentist knows that groggy, almost out-of-control feeling the anesthetic can leave. It’s not like the kid willing put himself in a altered state that one would when they get drunk or stoned. He had oral surgery! Then his dad taped him and posted it on YouTube for the world to see.

OK, I did find the Chad Vader remake a little funny. But my position still stands: Humor at a child’s expense is not cool.

Leave a Reply

