I am tired…

I am tired of the rage young people feel, whether from neglect, poverty, self doubt, fear. I am tired of seeing them hurt one another because they know no other way of expressing this rage. Words do not or can not articulate the their situation. Those who have used words go unheard or ignored, so they turn back to rage.

I am tired of rage. I’m tired of cruelty. I’m tired of the faults that some would characterize as the evil side of human nature.

I read about it here: http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/local/chi-fenger-safe-passage-06-oct06,0,2119252.story

And here: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/06/world/africa/06guinea.html?th&emc=th

And here: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/10/05/AR2009100503798.html

And here: http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5j03boQVykjl_jgf2XrmgM1oK0IfAD9ATALPO0

I cannot shut off my mind. I cannot drown out the rage in exchange for mindless filler. Are you going to solve the world’s problems on your iPhone? Stop looking down at your damn phone! All of you! I see you on the train; I see you on the street; I see you with your phones, ignoring the world. Are you thinking about what’s for dinner? Are you thinking about the big game? Are you checking your email, again? Are you humming along to your favorite song?

Or are you thinking about what you’re going to do when you get sick because you don’t have health insurance? Are you thinking about what you’re going to do now that your spouse is laid off from their job? Are you thinking about how you might be evicted from your apartment because you can’t make rent again? Are you thinking about the rage, like I am? Are you tired of it?

Get off your fucking phones.


Leave a Reply

